New Music

seferino mr fatalist 2014

Seferino is young Cape Town producer Geoffrey Brink, and is also the guitarist of John Wizards, whose debut album featured in our Best Albums of 2013 list.

This new solo track masks the sombre story of a certain Mr Fatalist behind a lithe and dreamy down-beat before suddenly bursting out into the flamboyant and euphoric hook, begging anyone from both crimpers to arm-pumpers alike to break out in jive.

Look sharp, house-man Geoff is on the up and up.

david gabriel corpse summer romance 2013 album artThe lad you see above in the album cover for David Gabriel Corpse’s debut solo album Summer Romance, is none other than a young David Gabriel Thorpe (of Beach Party and Gateway Drugs). Look at that kid, he’s charmed you already; he’s got you wrapped and whipped. Although, that self-same confident face also appears reserved,  melancholic but hopeful. I think maybe that kid wrote this album.

The collection of 7 piano-driven pop tracks are made up of 4 full songs and 3 ‘ludes, filled with full-blooded hooks of an optimistic despair, written and performed by our faithfully disheartened angel, Mr. Corpse, David Gabriel Corpse.

You can stream it below and purchase it at Bandcamp.

wave crusher

This collaborative release between South African musican Spoek Mathambo and American rapper Shamon Cassette is something the new duo see as a mini-album where we focussed on having fun rapping.

The two musical talents rework (this isn’t Spoek’s first mixtape) and flip tracks from Queen to Flume to Unknown Mortal Orchestra to Charlie XCX, in what they have dubbed is a “love letter to the original adventurous spirit of hip-hop.”


1. Wave Crusher” (original Mr. Carmack Hopscotch)
2. “Joaquina Beach” (original production from Spoek)
3. “Game Extrapulation. Match Point” (original Fu*k Buttons The Red Wing)
4. “My Mind Is In The Clouds” (original Pixies Where Is My Mind)
5. “Go On Dance” (original Flume Star Eyes)
6. “Bicycle” (original Unknown Mortal Orchestra From The Sun & Queen Bicycle)
7. “Cardboard Castle” (original Inc. The Place)
8. “The Atom Strikes” (original Charli XCX Nuclear Season & Peter Tosh Nuclear War)
9. “Fire & Smoke” (original production from Halp & Acre)

Click here to download this mixtape, gratis.

See track artwork by Otto Splotch.

Bicycle - Otto Splotch - Wave Crush Cardboard Castele - Otto Splotch - Wave Crush The Atom Strikes - Otto Splotch - Wave Crush

grizzly bear listen and waitIt’s been just over a year since Grizzly Bear released their beautiful 4th album, and little over a month since we enjoyed the first track, ‘Will Calls’, from the ‘Shields: Expanded’ and ‘Shields: B-Sides’ releasing on 12 Nov.

The band from Brooklyn once again create their bold and visceral soundscapes, a wall of sound wading in murky depth, expanded breadth and lofty heights. If you haven’t yet, listen to ‘Will Calls’ before moving onto the new single, ‘Listen and Wait’ below.



Salamander Sun

South African band Wild Eastern Arches have released the first single – Seven Day Itch – off their enchanting sophomore release entitled Salamander Sun.

The single is an apt introduction to the rest of the upcoming album, revealing a band more sure of themselves as individual musicians and as a unit, a fact which is increasingly apparent with each live show.

The album also serves as a triumph for independent artists in South Africa, with the band recording the album with the the oracle of the local independent recording scene, Johnny Tex, assisted by the growing talent of his protege Warren Ellis, both of The Future Primitives. The artwork for the album is a fresh design by the band’s drummer, Jack Walsh, once again proving that DIY is the the only way forward for the modern day free artist.